Crossroads

crossroads-589x328I’ve been thinking for about a week about the rightness of my action taking Biomedical Engineering major for my bachelor degree. Since joining International Student Energy Summit 2015 in Bali, my thought and my dreams resurfaced and beating a new life. When I was in high school I dreamed in taking Environmental Engineering or Biotechnology for Agriculture. Because it has a big impact in society. However, I can not pursue that dream so I took Biomedical Engineering instead.

Because of ISES 2015, I’m considering taking major in environmental or renewable energy for my master degree. The impulse is very huge and clouded my judgement for days. The only thing in my head is I want to take major in renewable energy in my master. I want to take it. I have to take it. I even contact my friend from Nederland, asking about his opinion and my chance in getting the major that I want. I even done my research which university that has good reputation in that major and the requirements needed.

Before I decide anything. I step back and remember why I’m taking Biomedical Engineering. I put my shoes in another perspective and doing my SWOT analysis in my potential, my ambitions, my dreams, and my values. Thanks to AIESEC that remind me my values and everything in Management Board Academy that held after ISES 2015.

I knew that I want to be beneficial for my community, taking major in sustainable energy technology will make me apply my major easily. Because the impact is real. Compared to Biomedical Engineering, the impact is only for certain of people, not everybody need benefit that this major bring.

I also knew that in taking sustainable energy technology I have to be excellent in mathematics and physics that I am not mastered. In Biomedical Engineering, especially in the focus that I take (Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering) I have the superiority in mastering Biology and Chemistry. In taking sustainable energy technology major also put me in the hard way because I have to struggle with my new surrounding, adapting to the new competitiveness that I’m unfamiliar with. However, If I’m continuing my journey in my major, I could be excellence student and have a big chance to create something meaningful to my community, although not something related with my major.

The thing is, I want to make a change in society. After ISES 2015, the change that I saw is about environment. However, as a student in Biomedical Engineering I could make a change in another social problem, like education. That’s why I need something to motivate me to continue on my journey.

After doing some research which university has a major in Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering, I found Imperial College London. I decided to pursue my major in this university, although I still have my hope for Oxford or Cambridge.

Leave a Reply

